Fact File: Dewar Stallion Trophy

28 May 2012

The New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association has been awarding the Dewar Stallion Trophy (Australian and New Zealand combined stakes earnings) since the 1964/65 Season and it’s been two Cambridge Stud stallions who have dominated the outcome in the 47 years of the award’s life to date.


Zabeel has won the Dewar Stallion Trophy a record 14 times, with Sir Tristram his closest rival with 9 Dewar Awards to his credit.


Zabeel currently leads the standings for the 2011-2012 Season, so could make it 15 Dewar Stallion Trophies by season’s end.


Multiple Dewar Stallion Trophy winners include


ZABEEL                                14


SIR TRISTRAM                    9


Le Filou                                3


Oncidium                             3


Pakistan 11                         3


Zamazaan                           2


Figures sourced from the 2011 NZTBA Stallion Register