42nd individual Group One winner for Zabeel

4 May 2012

Zabeelionaire became the 42nd Group One winner for Zabeel when taking out today’s South Australian Derby (2500m) at Morphettville, Adelaide.


Zabeel is now only three Group One winners behind his own sire, Sir Tristram, who chalked up 45 individual Group One winners during his long and illustrious career at Cambridge Stud.


Sir Patrick Hogan watched the South Australia Derby with interest from his Cambridge home and now has his eye on a 15th Dewar Award Trophy for Zabeel.


The Super Sire has won 14 Dewar Awards, a title which is won by the New Zealand-based sire whose progeny has won the most prize money in NZ and Australian combined.  Zabeel is well positioned in the Dewar Award chase and the prize money from today’s win by Zabeelionaire, coupled with the second placing by Lights of Heaven (also by Zabeel) in the A D Hollindale Stakes-Gr.2 at the Gold Coast, will certainly boost his prospects for a 15th title.


For the record, Sir Tristram, won 9 Dewar Award Trophies during his career.