Sir Patrick takes back seat

12 Sep 2012


In a fitting gesture, Sir Patrick Hogan invited four of his long-term employees to accept the Dewar Stallion Trophy (Australasian earnings) won by Zabeel at last night’s NZTR Horse of the Year Dinner in Hamilton.


Mark Vince (Broodmares &  former Sir Tristram handler), Bevan McCallum (Broodmare Manager), Corrina Holmes (Financial Controller) and Margaret Fife (Sales & Nominations Manager) went on stage to collect the award while Sir Patrick and Justine, Lady Hogan looked on from their seats.


It was the 15th time that Zabeel has won the Dewar Stallion Trophy; no other stallion can match that record in the 48 year history of this prestigious award, which was introduced for the 1964/65 Season.  Sir Tristram comes closest with nine Dewar Awards, with the next best being Le Filou, Oncidium and Pakistan 11 with three each.

The Dewar Stallion Trophy